Oh The Irony…

…at least I think it’s irony.  I have to admit to being one of those people that thought they knew what irony was, until people started making declarations of “That’s not irony!” when other people  (yeah, yeah, yeah, Alannis Morrissette) would claim something was ironic.  I must also admit that I’ve looked the definition up, several times, and I’m now more confused than ever.  What the hell IS irony?  I don’t know, I really don’t, but I think what I am about to tell you is ironic.  Maybe it is, maybe it isn’t, you tell me:

Yesterday the dog door arrived; the mega-fantastic, uber-wonderful ELECTRONIC dog door that has a key to attach to the dog, so’s he can go in and out to his heart content, but only him…i.e., the cat can’t go out, raccoons, skunks and possums can’t come in.  Or squirrels either, should they want to. (ah, life in the suburban jungle!)

We’ve been anticipating the arrival of the dog door with baited breath and tired eyes.  Ever since my pup and I moved in here with my beau, sleep has been an issue.  Especially after Luka, the dog, stayed at his Auntie Sue’s house for several days. Sue has a dog door.  Not a fancy electronic one like we just got, but a regular old plastic flap dog door.  (and cat door.  She has indoor/outdoor cats)  Luka got used to going in and out whenever he so desired, and when he got back to the new digs,he wanted to continue with this new, errant lifestyle. He would have to “go” every few hours throughout the night; some nights it was as many as four times, some nights as “few” as twice, and, quite often he would lounge outside before he came in.  Awesome.  So, whenever he stirred in the night, I would shoot out of bed, anxious to get him outside before he woke Michael up.  Then Michael told me that the shooting out of bed woke him with a surge of adrenaline that prevented him from getting back to sleep so I took to sneaking out of the bed.  Some nights I would be so bone tired that I wouldn’t hear the canine stirrings, and Michael would get up to let him out…and have to wait while Luka did his lounging thing, of course.

Michael is a saint.  He doesn’t even like dogs and he’s been so tolerant.  But still, enough is enough, we needed to get some sleep, so we ordered the dog door, and yesterday it arrived!  Hallelujah!  A good nights sleep would soon be had.  Little did we know how soon…last night, with the dog door still in it’s box, Luka slept the whole night through, not needing to go out until 9:30 this morning.

Now that’s irony for ya…I think!

About babedarla

I've spent years as a clothing/costume designer with my own business, but a recent life change has put me on a journey of self discovery and returned me to my first love: writing!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment