Grumble

I’m developing a new theory:  I think Lit classes are actually designed to make book lovers learn to HATE books.  Anybody else out there (especially writers) who’ve had a hard time in Lit class?

I got my essay back, one I’d worked SOOOOOOOOOOO hard on, one I thought I’d done well on, one I actually did sucky on : I got  a 66%   (a C- or a D+?) because the teacher thought it “could’ve” been an “A”.  He wants me to rewrite it, and he’ll give me up to one full grade higher…so, whoopee, I might get a C+, or, if I can actually figure out what the guy wants, a B-.  Oh Yay! (sarcasm font) I got straight A’s last semester.  In fact, in the entire time I’ve been back in school, I’ve only gotten one B to mar my record—so, to be given a C-/D+ is mind-boggling to me.  It’s certainly a first.  I mean, I work HARD!!!

Last week in class we had a discussion on Robert Frost’s “Stopping By Woods On A Snowy Evening:

Whose woods these are I think I know.
His house is in the village though;
He will not see me stopping here
To watch his woods fill up with snow.
My little horse must think it queer
To stop without a farmhouse near
Between the woods and frozen lake
The darkest evening of the year.
He gives his harness bells a shake
To ask if there is some mistake.
The only other sound’s the sweep
Of easy wind and downy flake.
The woods are lovely, dark and deep,
But I have promises to keep,
And miles to go before I sleep,
And miles to go before I sleep.

 

The teacher asked us to pick out three words that were “weird”.  I had a hard time with this; none of the words seemed weird.  The only one that even came close was “queer”, and that’s just because we have a different connotation for it today than they did in the 1920’s.  The other students, however, had no trouble finding weird words: little, when combined with horse? Weird. Darkest? Oh yeah, weird. Stopping?  Oh my god, that is so weird! The whiteboard in the room filled up quickly. Seemingly every word in this simple and lovely poem was weird.  Oh-kay.

Then we began to analyze the poem: Alright you guys, did you know that this poem is not really about taking a break on your travels to enjoy the view on a beautiful snowy night, but actually about beastiality, SBDM, suicide, running from the law and elicit affairs?  Yeah, I didn’t know that either.

So, rather than sit here being all confused and depressed,let’s just look at pictures of my dog…

 

Luka Bean on a rock

Luka Bean on a rock

Luka Bean in a box

Luka Bean in a box

 

Luka Bean all a-snooze

Luka Bean all a-snooze

Luka Bean with some booze

Luka Bean with some booze

Luka Bean with a friend

Luka Bean with a friend

Luka Bean at the end

Luka Bean this is the end

Oh, except maybe THIS is what Robert Frost saw in the woods on that snowy night:

bondage bunny

 

About babedarla

I've spent years as a clothing/costume designer with my own business, but a recent life change has put me on a journey of self discovery and returned me to my first love: writing!
This entry was posted in Academia, humor, poetry, travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Grumble

  1. Kris P. says:

    I’m so sorry you’re having difficulty in a class that should be fun and enlightening, especially for a writer. I feel that lit classes are always a hit or a miss with those of us who identify as writers and book lovers. You’re there in the class to analyze and discuss literature, which should be an awesome, open-minded discussion/debate, but I feel that some “professors” feel as if there is a, “This is the only way to interpret this work,” which can definitely hurt one’s grades and ego if one does not agree with said professor. Good luck with the class!

    • babedarla says:

      Thank you so much for your kind words! Yeah, there’s a part of me that feels like quitting…but then I remember all the other teachers who think that my work is great. I guess I just have to keep slogging on!

  2. babedarla says:

    I also must say, that Lit teachers seem to put extra emphasis on “finding meaning” even if that means creating the supposed meaning out of thin air! But I guess I have to get over this. I have three more Lit classes to go…

  3. That’s why I always did badly at English, though you’d think – being a mediumly good writer – I’d be good at it. Analysing lit is a mistake. It’s for reading, not analysing. Your dog is tres cute though and so are you! Is that you sitting on a hill in the nud? You have very nice legs, if that’s so!

  4. babedarla says:

    I think that’s why a lot of writers despise Academia; Because it’s a load of crap! Sometimes a story is just a story. Why did James Joyce write a certain story? Oh, I dunno, maybe he saw two boys crossing the road and he got an idea, but no, the story with the pedophile is NOT an analogy for Charles Parnell being caught in an affair with a married woman (another very real example of the classes analyzing skills!) I get so annoyed in this class. Sure, SOME stories and poems have “deeper” meaning, but not all of them do.
    Thank you, my dog is a sweetie-pie as well as a cutie-pie, and I am not naked in that picture. I have on a black bathing suit and was about forty pounds lighter than I am at present…*sigh*

  5. babedarla says:

    Yeah, it’s pretty weird that YOU would do poorly at English!

  6. True Mendicant says:

    I’ve never been a great fan of Robert Frost’s work, but now I see why: I didn’t understand the subtext! Maybe I should give the old boy another try…

Leave a Reply

