Bittersweet

There’s a time when you like

A man whose space

Doesn’t coincide with your space

Whose jagged edges

Rub brusquely against

Your most tender parts

You tear

You whine

You whimper

But ever to yourself

You never let him know

That you know

Of his foibles

And his follies

And his flaws.

And of

The veracity

Of all the things he never said

You wait

For him to speak

You wait

For him to act

You wait

For him to charm

The spirit from your very toes

And he does

With kisses and with calls

But nothing more

So you wait

For him to move

You wait

For follow through

You wait

For him to say

Go ahead, my Doll, go ahead

Go ahead

And love me

You wait,

And you wait

And you wait some more

And still you wait

For words that never come

Or acts to follow words

And you wait, and you wait

Until you wait no more

And you walk away

With thoughts like chocolate

Melting in your mouth and mind

Dark chocolate

Bittersweet

Bittersweet

Bittersweet

Bitter…

And sweet

About babedarla

I've spent years as a clothing/costume designer with my own business, but a recent life change has put me on a journey of self discovery and returned me to my first love: writing!
This entry was posted in love and dating, poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Bittersweet

  1. rose says:

    That really is the most beautiful poem. I absolutely love it. Bloody men!

  2. babedarla says:

    Well, with this one I’m actually doing a bit of healing from my past, so, despite being a wee bit frustrating, I’m okay with it all…and I’ve gotten a couple of poems and short stories out of it, so it’s a win! (that sounds just awful, doesn’t it? Using the guy for literary purposes! 😉 )

  3. babedarla says:

    And Thank you for the compliment!

  4. WordsFallFromMyEyes says:

    I love your words here – jagged, brusquely, tender. Excellent.

  5. babedarla says:

    Thank you very much!

  6. excellent, has the ring of life, and of truth about it. Like the short, punchy rhythms too, – direct and effective.

  7. babedarla says:

    Thank you very much Arran…it SHOULD have the ring of life and truth about, lol! As Rose said above “bloody men!” 😉
    I have a musician friend who wants to put it to music. I would love that!

Leave a Reply

