I Yam Who I Yam…Popeye!

I told my best friend the other day that up until about six months ago I didn’t realized that I was an intense little bunny. I always thought I was pretty low-key.

Oh no, Darla,” she answered “you’re high maintenance.”

Oh dear.

It’s not a bad thing,” she continued “it’s just who you are.”

Uh-oh. Time to do the mortification dance:

* face-palm, face-palm, head-shake, shrug *

Repeat until laughter ensues.

But that’s kinda good, right?” I ask, “Since, even though guys always say that they don’t like high maintenance women, that’s who they always end up with.”

Um…well…” says Kristin, “that’s a different kind of high maintenance. That’s the girls that like to be pampered and taken care of…you’re emotionally high maintenance.”

Awwww Jeez! It just keeps getting better.

Well, yeah, that’s true, I guess. I definitely want to be understood, and be allowed to express my emotions.”

Most guys aren’t comfortable enough with emotions to handle that.”

Most guys” Now that’s a caveat I can cleave to: most guys doesn’t mean all guys, and therefore intimates that there might be some guys that CAN handle who I am.)

Kristin verifies this concept. “Oh, yeah, definitely. It’s just not gonna be the average guy.”

Well, that’s okay, I never wanted the average guy anyway. I know I’m not everyone’s cup of tea…I mean, come on, purple hair and tattoos? That’s “interesting” on a twenty-four year old. On a fifty-four year old, it’s…even more “interesting”. I’m not everyone’s cup of tea, and the average guy is not my cup of tea. So, maybe in my wanderings I’ll bump into that guy who’s strong enough and brave enough, and goofy enough to take on a girl like me…

Alright, line up, you Knights of Mirth and Mayhem, throw your’ hat into the ring for a chance to be my paramour. Just don’t think that it’s gonna be Cinderella or Sleeping Beauty that you’ll find yourself kissing…nope, I’m guessing, from what Kristin says, that you’re going to be faced with more of a “Kate” from “The Taming Of The Shrew”. (I am more of a laughing Kate than a shrewish Kate, though. I’m not very shrewish… am I? Kristin???)

Anyway, whether I find that next great love of my life or not, and whether he sticks when I do find him…I’m happy with myself, and I like myself LOVE myself.  I love my life, and I see years and years of happiness ahead of me, whether partnered or alone.

Just know, you deep, strong, gorgeous men out there, if you do choose to throw your lot in with me, you will have a glorious life. Intensity, you see, at least in me, brings vivacity, and laughter, a full life of great adventures, amazing revelations and lovely soulful talks late into the night. You will never be bored, you will often be challenged to be the better you, you will be happy. And, if you decide not to reveal yourself, oh well, what can I say? My life will be all of those things anyway, with or without you.

Alright then, gotta go. Time to go out and love the day!

About babedarla

I've spent years as a clothing/costume designer with my own business, but a recent life change has put me on a journey of self discovery and returned me to my first love: writing!
This entry was posted in love and dating and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I Yam Who I Yam…Popeye!

  1. Sylvia McRae says:

    Yes, I promise those men do exist. My husband will tell you this gemini is, “high maintenance but WORTH it!”

  2. babedarla says:

    In retrospect, I realized that the boyfriends I’ve had that have lasted have definitely been those deep sorts!

  3. your best friend is a straight shooter! just as well you ended the conversation there! But yeah, have fun whatever you are, single or not, and the man who gets you will have lucked out, Darla. Women who take more real work also give more real rewards, guys.

  4. Kristin says:

    your not the least bit shrewish my dear – you always give as good as you take (and maybe a bit more). xoxo

    • babedarla says:

      Awwww, thanks K! Yeah, I don’t see myself as shrewish…my temper is usually in check, I don’t LIKE to argue or fight, and, at least in that regard, I’m pretty much live and let live…unless, effed with, (and effed with again, and again and again, I’m probably more patient and forgiving than I should be) and then all bets are off!
      Thanks for being my BFF! xoxoxo

  5. Shawn Bird says:

    lol. Here’s to the maintenance of women who know who they are, have unique perspectives, and aren’t afraid of technicolour hair! It’s been hard on the husband, who did the cleaving back decades ago when we were both sweet and conservative, but he’s tolerant of my crazy adornments, and responsible enough for the two of us. May you continue in contentment, while wondering if anyone’s coming along for the ride!

  6. babedarla says:

    Thank you so much Shawn, here’s hoping that continuation of contentment does…continue! Interesting that you chose to comment on this post after first discovering me through “Bittersweet”, but, I must say, that the universe DOES work in mysterious ways, cuz I really needed to reread this today!
    Also on an interesting note, this post is now the main part of my online dating profile. I seem to be attracting a different and “better “quality of man, so, perhaps I’ll “find” him yet!
    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

