A Short And Old-Fashioned Poem About Self-Worth

Like starving dogs they wait for crumbs

With soulful, doleful, pleading eyes

While I the mighty, proud and lofty tigress take

For me and mine

The whole cake

‘Tis true I may be burnt

By cake too hot for soul to bear

If burning comes I shall apply

A soothing balm for spirit sore

A chance I take it truly is

But better that than pleading eyes

When weak of will with grasping hands

To wait and wail and grab

The barest hint of nourishment

The barest hint of love

The barest hint of heaven sent

The barest hint

From crumbs that come

About babedarla

I've spent years as a clothing/costume designer with my own business, but a recent life change has put me on a journey of self discovery and returned me to my first love: writing!
This entry was posted in love and dating, poetry, spirituality and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Short And Old-Fashioned Poem About Self-Worth

  1. Oh, do I love this poem. So true, better to suffer a little and wait for the whole cake than to settle only for heartbreaking crumbs.

  2. babedarla says:

    Thank you Madame Weebles! I’ve come across a few women of late that are so used to their unhappy lives, so used to martyrdom that than can’t hear anything about making their lives better and happier…It’s so sad!
    Also, I feel like you should go for what you want in life, take a chance, do the things you see might make you happy…if it doesn’t work, well, you lick your’ wounds, get back up and try something else. You expect the very best for yourself, not the worst!

  3. This was good and normally I am not the biggest fan of poetry. Self worth or esteem is a tough issue. It seems that too many awesome people have so much doubt and so many creeps are convinced of their greatness.

    • babedarla says:

      So very true…and it also seems to be cyclical, or perhaps intermittent…at least for the awesome ones, the creeps have absolutely NO problem holding onto their vaulted (read: FAULTED)self esteem!
      I hope that doesn’t mean I’ve turned into a creep, now that I’m convinced of my wonderfulness…ok, that just sounded creepy, now didn’t it?!

      • babedarla says:

        By the way, I don’t go in for poetry much either anymore…used to love it, but that was back in the 80’s when it was momentarily cool again. These days, when I find myself writing a poem, I’m usually a bit surprised!

  4. Indeed self worth can lead to significant transformative changes in us. It would also allow us to be more sharing and equitable in our thoughts. What is it we could do to improve our self worth?

    Shakti

  5. I like this image of you as a grabbing tigress. So should we all be!

Leave a Reply

