Back In The Hood Again

Back in the hood again

I open the door to sounds

Of automatic weapon fire

Ten shots

Quick succession

Dogs bark

Sirens shrill

Back in the hood again

Older now

Not twenty-five this time

Not thirty-five nor forty

But fifty-four and poor

Back in the hood again

No choice but this

Or country life

Of which I’m sick

Back in the hood again

And so I name the sounds I hear

Excitement” and “urban life”

And then console a new robbed friend

Back in the hood again

Rely on high fences that even I can climb

Locked gates and a dog

Pepper spray my son gave me for Christmas

The price I pay for city life

Too high?

At fifty-four and poor

To be back

Back in the hood again

About babedarla

I've spent years as a clothing/costume designer with my own business, but a recent life change has put me on a journey of self discovery and returned me to my first love: writing!
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Back In The Hood Again

  1. That sounds kind of sad, Darla. You don’t sound happy to be back there and it doesn’t sound like a good way to be. Options? (come and stay with me one day on my little farm – when I get one!)

  2. babedarla says:

    Awww, it’s not that bad, more poetic license, really, though the gun shots were distressing…on the other hand, I found the gift of pepperspray both amusing and useful!
    I’d LOVE to come and stay with you on your little farm…when you get one.! 😉

    • Good! Mind you right now owning a little farm is looking a little iffy..only because there’s bushfires everywhere and temperatures are up round the high 40s. They say it’ll get worse – this is the hottest year on record here, one of the ten hottest which all happened in the last 15 years or so. One thing I would not like is to be stuck on a farm with some bush around and a fire coming and a whole heap of animals and no way to get them away…(like, horses, cows, that kind of thing – hard to load quickly into your average small car).

      • babedarla says:

        My friend that lives near you…a couple of hours away, I think you’ve both said, is complaining fiercely about the heat…she tried for a cool swim this evening and came back saying the pool was warm like bathwater…me, I’m freezing! 32 degrees without the glories of snow!
        we should meet in the middle!

  3. zennoguyma says:

    I really enjoy how honestly you write. America is an incredibly violent place. You capture that unflinchingly in this piece. I don’t think most Americans realize how violent the country has become. It’s as if the phrase “home of the brave” gives people the right to carry weapons and to be belligerent towards each other. It just creates a bullying society where force is valued over compromise and inclusion…

Leave a Reply

