A Leaky Trailer And A Summer Mountain Storm

CR-ACK goes the thunder that wakens me from a dead sleep

Lightning so close my hair should be singed

I look to find my dog

Still asleep at my feet

This good dog

This gun dog

Undisturbed by a sound

that leaves

Other dogs

A quivering mass

Of frayed canine nerves

I am wide awake

adrenaline surged by natures harsh alarm

I worry and fret

I question the wisdom of summering in the mountains

In a giant metal tube

I wonder how good aluminum is

At conducting electricity?

And are four rubber tires enough

To ground this beast?

I’m thankful

For the other metal structures near me

The old mill furnace

Silo in shape and tall

The metal roofed drying shed

I’m grateful, so grateful

that Airstream didn’t use the copper

Of a barn top lightning rod

In the making of my metal house

(Though wouldn’t that be a wondrous sight?

A gleaming COPPER tube

Rolling down the roadways of life)

Do Airstream’s float?

The way the rain sounds on the roof

I may have need to turn this trailer

Into a boat and float

On down the mountainside

sailing to the my next journeys home

Drip, splash

Drip, splash

Drip, splash

The rain outside is something fierce

And the overflow

Like gentle tears

Cries inside my trailer

Must. Fix. Soon.

First five a.m. Now six

Sleep

Sleep

Sleep

Must sleep soon

Close my computer

Then close my eyes

And try again to sleep

In a leaky trailer

And a summer mountain storm

About babedarla

I've spent years as a clothing/costume designer with my own business, but a recent life change has put me on a journey of self discovery and returned me to my first love: writing!
This entry was posted in poetry, travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Leaky Trailer And A Summer Mountain Storm

  1. Despite the leaks, I think there are few things better than being inside a trailer and listening to the rain thundering down. Lucky you. Stay safe. Stay dry!

  2. babedarla says:

    I was thinking as I lay there this morning, that it reminds me of my old house in the mountains, with the bedroom under the eves…I so loved to listen to the rain in that bedroom, and I do in the trailer too!
    I did think I was gonna float away though, lol!

  3. rantingrebel says:

    I have granted you access to my blog, click below. If you have trouble let me know 🙂
    http://justanotherrollingstone.wordpress.com/

  4. Judy says:

    Very Nice!

  5. A poem! Wow. Sounds exciting. What a good dog, too!

    • babedarla says:

      He’s the best dog! (‘cept for the barking…*sigh*!)
      I haven’t written a poem in 25 years! I tried it as prose first, but it was supposed to be a poem, so that’s what it became!

  6. Pingback: URL

Leave a Reply

