MUSIC!!!!!!!

My friend Randy, who’s letting me park my Airstream in his yard at the moment, stopped by my door on his way to catch the ferry to tell me he had scored a couple of tickets to see a woman named Esperanza Spaulding play in Downtown Seattle tonight! I’m so excited!!! I’ve never heard her, but, Randy’s got great taste in music, so I’m sure she’ll be amazing. And, anyway, live music!!! Awesomeness in itself! I’ve been immersed in music since I got to the island, and I couldn’t be happier! On Sunday night we went to an open mike at a local cafe/bar that featured the talents of MOST of the kids on Bainbridge (and a few of the adults) When we first got there I had a bit of a ‘tude going on: “Omigod, teenagers! He’p me Jesus”, but the pure unadulterated TALENT of these kids blew me away and wiped any ‘tude right off the map! The voices on these kids! And the abilities! There was one kid…what was the name of their band? Oh yeah, Karma Police. Well, this kid, tall, lanky, adorable, (loved by the teenage girls, I have no doubt!) he reminded me a lot of Julian at that age: take two parts class clown, two parts deep thinking teenage hunk, a dose of smartness AND smart-assedness, add in just a dash of leftover childhood shyness, and there you have one great kid! (I’m guessing HIS mom is as proud of him as I am of my Jules!) Anyway while the band was setting up, tuning, all the while this kid talked, and his banter was awesome-funny. He started off with “Hi, we’re the Karma Police…this is the band, they do all the work. Me, I’m too pretty to do any work…so I just sing…oh, and I dance…and at one point I take off my jacket too…”

He went on like that just saying random and funny things…he kept talking even after the band was ready to start. Finally one of the band members had to poke him to let him know to shush! (Randy said they should’ve just started playing. I agree!)

The band rocked, they did, but this kid was definitely the star! During the first song, he was nervous, so his throat was tight. By the second song he had relaxed, so his singing was better…but his showmanship was the thing! This kid, despite not having the best voice on the planet (nothing that a good voice coach couldn’t fix!) kept the attention of the whole room—probably 300 people! What he lacked in natural talent, he more than made up for with pure verve and energy. I have no doubt that this kid will go far!

There was another kid, Dane something-or-another, who absolutely took the room by surprise with an original song of his. Now, this kid looked to be easy to dismiss: short cropped blonde hair, looked like a jock, who knew he was gonna have talent…but when he put hands to strings and opened up his mouth in song? That kid has the Deep Lush Soul thing going on in spades. He wrote and performed a song that moved the audience, so evocative and touching. (later on, his dad told Randy that he had never even opened up his mouth to sing at home. His dad hadn’t had a clue his son was so talented!)

The stars of the night, however were this band called The Hum. You can listen to this by clicking on this link: http://www.reverbnation.com/thehum These kids! WOW! Seventeen year old Indie Rock Gods!!!! They sort of have a Postal Service/ Modest Mouse/ MGMT vibe going on (and my son will probably inform me that MGMT doen’t fit in the same category as The Postal Service or Modest Mouse, but, what do I know? I’m an old Phart!)Just go listen to their music. Oh my lordy, are they GOOD!!!!

So, this post went in a direction I didn’t know it was going to go…sort of like Bainbridge Island has been for me: All about the music! From the moment I arrived when I walked into a house full of instruments with a jam session going on, music has surrounded me, buoyed me, lifted me, healed me! Music is in it’s proper place here: center stage, played loud, with a lilting melody!

So, I thought this post was gonna be about how I would’ve missed out on all this music had I stayed in Oregon with the guy, blah blah blah, and what I got from being with the guy, blah blah blah, my search for blah blah love, blah blah blah, love, blah blah, guys, blah, heart, blah, break, blah blah BLAH! Now, don’t get me wrong, I’m still keeping on with my search for love, after all, guys are yummy, but, for now, I think I’ll just bask in the music!

Oh, by the way, did I tell you all that I’m in the band? Heeheehee!

About babedarla

I've spent years as a clothing/costume designer with my own business, but a recent life change has put me on a journey of self discovery and returned me to my first love: writing!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to MUSIC!!!!!!!

  1. You’re in the BAND! Wow! Rock chick???? I’m jealous! Actually the search for a guy gets boring sometimes, I find myself not bothering about it and doing other stuff like admiring hot young music stars instead (and listening to the music, of course!).

    • babedarla says:

      don’t get too excited, it’s not MUCH of a band (they’re musicians, I’m not!)…and, after 20 years or so of not singing AT ALL, it’s gonna be a lot of work to just be able to sing…I’m hoping for perhaps just an open mike or a party or two (anything more would be grand, nut, let’s not delude ourselves, ‘k?) It would certainly fulfill all those rockstar dreams from my 20’s, as well as help me with my current goal of being SEEN!

    • babedarla says:

      And, yeah, the boys in this band definitely ARE hot young things…just call me Mrs. Robinson! (No wait, DON’T!!! EWWWWWW!!!!!!)

  2. Also, the band rocks. In a quiet way!

    • babedarla says:

      Yeah, they do! When I listened to them later, I found them to be more derivative than I’d like (I’m such a rock snob!!!) but HELL! They’re SEVENTEEN YEARS OLD!!!!!! Compare the crap poetry I was writing at seventeen to the music these boys are doing…I’m still blown away!

Leave a Reply

